Kamikaze Pro: Dojo Blog #8


kpro7So week eight has been and gone, and I can’t wait for the next training session. You know what they say, time flies when you’re having fun. Once a week just isn’t enough. Maybe in the future I’ll be able to do twice a week, when I’m good enough to almost hang with the other guys. For now, I just need to learn everything I can each week and keep coming back.

As for this week, it was pretty cool. The guys from BBC Three were there filming again. In case I haven’t already mentioned, they are coming around a lot of dojo sessions, shows, etc following Pete and Ryan, for a show called “People Like Us” – at least I think that’s what it is for. Exciting times nonetheless! They were there to focus on those guys, and we will probably just be background, but it was still a little bit nerve-racking. I’ll get to that later.

After a nice workout and some light cardio, we proceeded to crack on with rolling drills. After that was out of the way, we spent the majority of the session giving and taking ground attacks. It was the first time us beginners had got to do this stuff, and we mostly served as practice fodder for the advanced guys. Hell, you gotta pay those dues! I enjoyed it all anyway, but I have to admit, I loved trying to jump in the air and splash over people more than I did taking leg and elbow drops. I also tweaked my right arm a little bit when someone landed on me for one of those moves. No big deal. Pain and gain, and all that.

The most fun period of the session came when the guys dragged out these athletic benches (not sure what they are called, but gymnasts use them) and made a makeshift second rope out of them. I can’t imagine how high the top rope must feel because this itself was pretty nervy. We were told to splash and back bump off them onto the crash mat, in an attempt to build confidence and take us out of our comfort zone. It totally worked! By the end, everyone had fallen helplessly backwards off of that ledge with the confidence that they would not be broken upon landing. Nobody was hurt. Everybody was more confident I’m sure. I know I was!

To finish off, we did promos as usual. Me and Johnny slightly improved our attempt at a dual promo. The guys said we made some progress, so that’s good. Still a long way to go though! The cameras were on us all for this segment, which made it a bit nerve-racking but we all made it through. Matt Lightning came with the rhyming skills and the end of the session spiralled into an unstoppable rap battle between him and James (Marshall X) – that certainly entertained us all!

That’s it for this week. Check back next week. Roll on next Tuesday! In the meantime, I’ll be in Wolverhampton on Friday for Fight Club Pro at the Planet Nightclub. Kevin Steen will be in attendance, so I am beyond excited. On Sunday, I’m going to the Kamikaze Pro 1st Anniversary Show. That means I get to see Uhaa Nation for the second time in nine days, and Ryan Smile is taking on Robbie X in a unification ladder match. It’s going to be one hell of a weekend. Not gonna lie though. I’m most excited about England v Italy on Saturday night. That is going to be immense.

Thanks for reading,

Craig [Editor]

What is your opinion?

