Kamikaze Pro: Dojo Blog #4


ryansmile

Ryan Smile – Kamikaze Pro Champion

Today is Wednesday and last night was my fourth training session at the Kamikaze Pro Dojo. The group continues to grow in size and stature, and both of our trainers were on hand to do some great work with everybody present. Us beginners were trained by Ryan, while Pete did some stuff with the advanced guys. After our usual cardio/warm-up, we were split into the two groups and ready to get down to business.

We didn’t really venture into any new ground this week, but I thought that was justified. There is still a lot of progress to be made – for all of us in that group – in terms of the basics. I still struggle with my form on a lot of the moves, but I’ll get there. I love working with Ryan to be honest. He explains to you why something is done the way it is. He doesn’t just tell you to do it. He is willing to show by doing, and that helps a lot. Pete is the same way, two great trainers! Also, found out that Ryan used to be a dancer yesterday, and that explains a lot. There is grace is everything he does. Hopefully I can continue to make progress the two of them.

So given our need to brush up on those basics, we worked on the following: forward/back rolls, lock-ups and headlocks. I know those guys probably think that they are boring us, but I love everything we get to do. From bumping on the mat, to applying a headlock, it’s all so fun! I would gladly do that for months before moving onto anything else, if that’s what needs to be done. I respect the judgement of the trainers, and just hope to move forward at the right pace. If that means doing lock-ups for months (rather than moonsaults) to be better in the long run, I look forward to it. I’d rather know how to work a coherent match, before I learn flashy moves that won’t make sense.

We also did the promo thing at the end again. I always find this excruciating. I’m not the shyest guy in the world, but I’m also not the most outgoing, and this is way out of my comfort zone. I know that is the idea, and I think it makes sense. I totally get it, but it’s difficult. I’m hoping I can get better as the weeks go on, but it’s so daunting. Most of the other guys and girls are pretty good at it too, and some of them are just hilariously good! Hopefully I can get to that level eventually.

The whole point of the exercise is to build our confidence and build some camaraderie between all of us. I love that idea. One of the guys from training suggested that a few of us get together to help set up the ring before the Juventud Guerrera show for Kamikaze Pro on May 25th. The plan is to do some work before the show, maybe take a few bumps, and then go for drinks after the show. I’m very excited for this! It should be an awesome day. I was going to the show anyway to review it. There are some excellent matches booked. It will be even better getting to hang out with everyone too.

If you wanna check out K-Pro’s Broken Down City with Juventud Guerrera on May 25th at Cadbury Club, Bourneville – check out this link.

I’ll be back next week with another update on my attempt to transform myself from struggling writer/journalist into ring general.

Thanks for reading,

Craig [Editor]

What is your opinion?

