GTA5 in 500 words: The belated review


nerdMichael’s “loveable” son – Source: g3ar.co.za

That’s right. It’s time for a non-wrestling related post. Fasten your seatbelts, it’s going to be a frisky ride! It’s taken me far too long to get around to this, but as the title gives away, I’m going to try and sum up my feelings on GTA5 in exactly 500 words. Consider this a summary on what I love about it, and what I would change about it. I picked up the game around six weeks ago. I’ve completed the story mode, but haven’t done all the extra stuff to get to 100% yet. I’ll get around to it. I renewed my Live account for a month to play the online mode. That ran out yesterday and I won’t be renewing it. What did I make of them both you ask?

Well despite all the controversy about the lack of female protagonist, the story mode is excellent. I loved playing through the complex tale that is next gen Los Santos. Having three different characters makes the game-play better in ways you can only imagine, unless of course you have the game, which you probably do. All three of them are compelling and easy to root for in their own right. It’s the best storyline so far in the series in my opinion. For the record, I don’t want a female protagonist either.

The online mode is a different beast altogether. One positive for me was receiving the 500 thousand dollar in-game payment from Rockstar for all of the problems that players encountered in the early stages. Ironically, I only played once in October for an hour, and by the time I got round to giving it a real go in November, most of the server issues had been eradicated. I’m very grateful for the funds though. They helped me get a sweet apartment with a huge garage.

It’s a shame that the online mode is governed by a stupid system, in which you have to constantly grind out on races, missions and death-matches to painstakingly increase your RP. It’s by doing so that you can unlock practically everything on the game, from sniper rifles, to car modifications, to tattoos. I understand the concept, but it didn’t take me long to get bored of what seemed too much like hard work. Finding your friends and joining their games proved annoyingly difficult too. There were some high points, and I don’t think it’s the last time I will play by any stretch, but for now I’d rather focus on my three heroes Michael, Franklin and Trevor.

So it’s back to the story mode. I doubt I will be renewing my online membership until I get the new Call of Duty. I’d much rather cruise through the Vinewood Hills, listening to All Saints on the radio, with Chop in the passenger seat. I’d rather admire the insanely good graphics and ridiculously improved driving engine, in the peace and tranquillity of story mode Grant Theft Auto V.

Thanks for reading.

Craig [Editor]

What is your opinion?