The Wrestling Review Corner – The Rise and Fall of WCW [DOC]


stingjrOne of the bizarre moments in WCW history – Source: World Wrestling Entertainment

Thanks for checking out another review here on The Real Mid Card, and it’s back to the documentaries this week. The Rise and Fall of WCW is a true classic. If you’re a wrestling fan and you haven’t watched this, you’re missing out. Let’s wet your appetite for it here, and then you can go out and get a copy. You won’t regret it.

The Wrestling Review Corner
The Rise and Fall of WCW

I’ve watched this film so many times, but I enjoyed it again once more recently, so I decided to write about it here. I never watched a whole lot of WCW growing up during the famous Attitude Era, because I was just so into WWF and Raw. I’ve learned a lot more about the company since it’s demise, than I knew back in those pre-teen days. A lot of what I learned came from this film, and from Eric Bischoff’s book Controversy Creates Cash which I picked up at my university library and loved. It’s still one of my favourite books. Maybe I will read it again and review it on here someday. I’m not as fond of the guy himself anymore though. Watch this movie and you will feel the same way.

You do get to see how great WCW was, and all of the things they did right. You also get the sobering reality of it’s ultimate doom. The first half is like a lesson in how to get hot, compete with the best, and dominate. The second is a guideline in what not to do when running a wrestling company. It’s a lovely blend. The tale is told mostly through great interviews with the people that worked there. It’s a roll call of the biggest names in the business, an array of credible on and off screen talent. This adds a real legitimacy to the content. Their brutal honesty gives it a good edge.

Considering it was made by WWE many years after the company was bought by Vince, it’s extremely unbiased and mostly complimentary. You can’t hide the reality of what happened towards the end, but the vast majority of the film applauds and reminds. I think that’s a nice touch. If it were me, I would release a DVD completely ripping them to shreds in revenge for everything Bischoff and co ever did to try and get one over on me, and my staff. That’s why I’m not the businessman that McMahon is. He deserves respect for that.

If you are a young wrestling fan who didn’t grow up during this period, you should definitely check this out, for educational purposes if nothing else. If you are a seasoned veteran who wants to relive the glory days, you will be satisfied. I would recommend this film to any true wrestling fan, especially all of you TNA fans. It’s a stark reminder of what Bischoff, Hogan, Russo, Nash and the like will do when they have power. For all the good that was done, and for all the good intentions of the WWE to focus much more on the “rise”, it’s the demise that you take away from this. It’s hard not to.

Thanks for reading. Leave a comment, and check out the film!

Craig [Editor]

What is your opinion?

