WWE: Bryan and Punk team again to top off a fairly weak UK Smackdown


bryanpunkTeam Best-Beard in action again – Source: World Wrestling Entertainment

Hi, and thanks for checking out The Real Mid Card. I’m going to take a look at this week’s episode of Smackdown as always. It was once again emanating from the great city of Manchester, England. I made my way home on Tuesday after seeing Raw in the same arena the previous night, and I was kind of glad that I didn’t stick around for this taping. Let’s see what was noteworthy here.

Well the commentary was top notch, that’s something! JBL was in great form as usual. I actually got a quick glimpse of the two of them legit laughing in the background shot during a match. They had great chemistry, some great banter and that really helped me to retain interest. One thing that came out of their mouths did make me sour a little, the news that Daniel Bryan and CM Punk will be teaming against Bray Wyatt’s two disciples at Survivor Series. They thought that was “best for business” apparently. It’s already making me consider not ordering, but I guess you can’t please everyone. I’m not sure who this will please though. They couldn’t even make it a traditional multi-man match. Not a lot to anticipate so far, as the second longest running pay-per-view in the company’s history continues to decline.

The Wyatts were involved in a terrific opening match with The Usos. I have no problem with the two big guys. I even get why they are keeping Bray out of the ring whenever possible, but to not even have him wrestle on a major pay-per-view is a step too far. One of the supposed main event matches will be a standard tag-team affair that wouldn’t look out of place on this very episode of Smackdown, and that’s difficult to swallow. The Union Jacks made another appearance to job to R-Truth and the Prime Time Players, and The Funkadactyls took on The Bella Twins in a match which must surely have set a new record for the least crowd reaction ever.

cenasignsUs Brits are known for innovative signs – Source: World Wrestling Entertainment

Alberto Del Rio and John Cena appeared in the ring with Michael Cole, in an arm-wrestling contest of sorts. This was marginally entertaining, and I credit them for trying to do a different kind of segment to move this one along. There isn’t much they can do with these two that won’t be boring. I’ve seen their feud before, and I really don’t want to see it again. I suppose doing this was better than just doing a random tag team match. Hunico and Camacho returned, and were subsequently squashed by The Great Khali. That almost made me shut off the TV.

Our new super-group aptly named “The Beard with The Best” concluded the show against former Paul Heyman guys, Curtis Axel and Ryback. They were involved in a backstage conversation earlier in the show, in which they made it clear that they are going it alone, or together, or something without Paul, from now on. This match was very solid. That’s something you would expect from the former. The show ended with another Wyatt Family run-in brawl mayhem moment. Too predictable.

[6/10]: You know me by now, I will explain my rating. Some would call me a WWE fanboy. I’m easily pleased by their product, and rarely have a bad thing to say about them. That’s why this show shocked me so much. I’m glad I didn’t attend. It was predictable and average. Survivor Series does not look too great at this point. The announcement of the Bryan/Punk tag match at the start of the show, did not make the abundance of filler and rebounds any more bearable for me. Hopefully things will improve, but it looks like the second oldest show is going to fall stagnant before it even starts.

Thanks for reading, and leave a comment letting me know what you think.

Craig[Editor]

What is your opinion?

