UFC: The latest results and opinions on TUF and Fight Night


MMA: UFC Fight Night 29-Weigh-insDemian Maia and Jake Shields square off – Source: Jason Silva (USA TODAY Sports)

Thanks for joining me on The Real Mid Card for some viewpoints on the very latest in the Ultimate Fighting Championship. Today I’m going to run through the last episode of TUF then give my predictions on and summary of UFC Fight Night 29: Maia v Shields.

I’m not going to lie to you, TUF was pretty boring. Knowing that next week has ladies in bikinis made me want to skip this one. OK, so the fight saw our own Davey, pitted against Louie, the guy that lost his fight to get in but the guy Dana liked. Davey outclassed him and battered him in round one, then finished him real quick with a real naked forcing the tap. Great fight for Davey, not so much for poor Louie. Team Rousey still in control. Next week we get a lanky model against a short tattooed lady. That should be a fun scrap.

Now let’s talk Fight Night and take a look at my predictions of the main card from bottom to top. Assuncao v Dillashaw: Assuncao is the home boy, Dillashaw is a wrestle-boxer. Assuncao seems to have found his groove, having won four straight, but that goes the same for Dillashaw. They have a common opponent in Vaughan Lee who both have finished off, but with Dillashaw did it faster. I see Assuncao getting a safe decision.

Pearce v Palhares: Palahares is a headcase, and he is a dirty cheating midget. Pearce is going to be too savvy and I see him winning the decision. Maldanado v Beltran: This is a battle of two former heavyweights, both come to bang. Maldonado has the crisper boxing but Beltran has that KO power. Maldanado takes a while to warm up in his fights, but this is a toss up fight. My heart says Beltran. My head says Maldonado. I’m going with my head.

Hamil v Silva: I’m going with Silva here by TKO in the second. The big question is, will he piss hot? I hope not. Silva v kim: Kim is tough as shit and a bit of a prospect killer, but Silva impresses me every time. He is beautifully violent, with so much style and grace. He has a loss to Jon Fitch and I think that Kim will look to impose his will and Fitch him up. I hate to say this but unless Silva comes out and puts a muthfuckin blitz on Kim’s head and knocks him the fuck out, it’s Kim’s fight all day. I’m going for Kim by decision.

Finally Maia v Shields: Both of these two have stellar BJJ, and both are pretty good grapplers. The question is, where will the battle be contested? That depends on Maia. He has fell in love with striking, since training with Wanderlei. However, he does lack power. Shields doesn’t like getting hit and has awful striking ability. He wants this on the ground but I see him trying for three (maybe more) eye pokes before he gets it there. This is a fight that Maia can and should win easily, but how he will win I don’t know.

How did the night actually go off? Let’s take a look at my live commentary and results. I’m not sure anyone is really feeling these Wednesday cards. The usually electrifying Brazil crowd is more like a damp squid. The fights seem to be lacking excitement. The fights are going as predicted, except that tree stump beat Mitchell. Palahares seemed to have taken off his mental head. All he wanted was to take Mitchell’s leg home and he did it in seconds.

Next up is Silva v Kim. I’m running out of steam but I will see it through to the end. Ill watch the next episode of TUF after some sleep. I hate these ad breaks that go on forever. One thing of note is that Thiago Silva weighed in 3lb over it showed. He looked soft and was gassed after a minute. He is on thin Ice with his bosses and I wouldn’t be surprised to see him cut even with his win over Matt Hamill. It’s a shame because he has talent, but he doesn’t seem to want it anymore. You can see it. If he had the commitment, he could make a serious run for the title. Dana only knows, what he does with the guy. Maybe they will put him in with Daniel Cormier after he whacks Roy Nelson.

Back to the fight. Kim is doing the Fitch as predicted. Erick Silva throwing with bad intentions. Kim throwing spinning shit. Kim with a takedown and mount. Will he go full donkey Kong? Just humping and slapping. Silva working for sweeps. Round one ends  and has got to be Kim’s. Round 2 and Silva explodes. Kim is tying up. Silva is throwing strikes but mostly missing. Stun gun with a big punch and Silva is out Fucking cold. Wow. Didn’t expect that beautiful finish. The venue must be ridiculously humid. I haven’t seen this much sweat and heavy breathing since Abu Dhabi. UFC really needs to start taking these things into consideration. Dehydration is not fun and can put these guys at serious risk of a brain injury.

Coming up the main event of the evening. I actually didn’t make it through the fight. I read that Shields got the split decision. I’m not surprised.

I Watched another TUF and what a fight! A back and forth battle – very competitive. Some are hailing it the Griffin v Bonnar of WMMA. That may well be so. Its a must see fight and if you haven’t seen it, you simply must see it. If you have seen it, watch it again. I loved the fight. This means that Team Tate takes control. The next fight features a Brit from Team Rousey, and that’s always good.. She may gain control again. I’m going to leave it there and keep this part short because this has been rather long overall.

Thanks a lot for sticking through and coming back for more.

Arun Paul Smith

What is your opinion?

