The Weekly Editorial: Why I love Jim Cornette


jimcornetteThe big ol’ smile of The Louisville Lip – Source: World Wrestling Entertainment

I’ve always known about Jim Cornette, but I never really knew what he was about. I’d remember having seen him here or there on WWF during the Attitude Era, but he was gone shortly after I got into wrestling. I’ve heard his name mentioned on documentaries and figured he was another one of those booker names you always hear (Russo, Bischoff, Pritchard, etc) but I never fully understood who he was.

A few months ago, I started getting very addicted to watching shoot videos on YouTube, and as you can imagine, Cornette was popping up on a regular basis. I fell in love with his confrontational, opinionated and most of all emotional commentaries on the state of the business. Many out there don’t agree with his views, or they complain of his shortcomings as a booker or creative mind. I can’t say I know too much about that, so I won’t argue with it at all.

What I can say is that the guy is passionate about real pro wrestling and he speaks his mind. I’ll go one further. Most of the time I totally agree with what he has to say, and I have a sneaky suspicion that I’m not the only one. The guy seems to have a noteworthy cult fanbase on the internet consisting of hardcore wrestling fans, who want their voices heard. He seems to have taken on the role of the unofficial voice of the voiceless.

Sometimes I think his ramblings are wide of the mark, but I always respect what he has to say because he always articulates himself so well. I know he’s been pivotally involved in some of the great smaller organisations on the independent/territory scene, and has helped develop some of the truly great talents of the modern era (e.g. John Cena, Batista, Randy Orton, etc) – Smoky Mountain Wrestling, Ohio Valley Wrestling and Ring of Honor are all success stories that he has worked closely with, or even fully controlled. He was also a part of TNA, but let’s not mention all that Russo drama.

As far as my research has taken me, the man is a great in the business. He was one of the best managers of all time, a very solid booker, an entertaining announcer and now he is a legend. His straight-shooting talks on the decline of mainstream tag team wrestling, the lack of successful managers and the general decay of old school logic in the modern industry strike a chord and ring true in my mind. I’m not a doom merchant though. I love current WWE, but a lot of the problems it does have could be solved by his input, in my humble opinion.

I emailed the guy recently because I’d love to get some direct responses from him on the current state of affairs in the business. I expected him or his people to completely ignore it, but the man himself replied within a day. I’m sending him some questions over, and he will be sending written responses, which I’ll post on here, so hit ‘Follow’ to make sure you don’t miss the interview. I’m hoping this can lead to a telephone or Skype interview, which would also be posted on here.

The guy is opinionated and sometimes vicious. He is also bang on correct most of the time, in my view. I’m excited to see his responses. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. Do you love the guy, or do you hate him?

Thanks for reading,

Craig [Editor]

One thought on “The Weekly Editorial: Why I love Jim Cornette

  1. Pingback: Raw: Tag Team Title Main Event encapsulates a really great episode! | The Real Mid Card

What is your opinion?

