The World’s End: My First Movie Review


worlds-end

All the boys having a drink – Source: http://www.collider.com

You’re about to read a little pinch of other. The wrestling coverage has to be briefed interrupted sometimes, so here is my attempt at a movie review. I hope you enjoy it.

If you follow my blog often, you will realise that film reviews aren’t really my thing, but I’m gonna give it a go. I’ll try and keep it short and snappy. So I saw The World’s End about a week ago and absolutely loved it. Having reflected on it for a while now, I’d like to give my fairly uninformed opinion.

A Great Story So as always, Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright treated us to another beast of a script. This story of friendship, failure and frenzy captivated me from start to finish. As they always do so well, they managed to intertwine a very ordinary, English tale with an unfathomable problem. A standard pub crawl for five middle aged former school friends turns sour when they encounter the presence of some kind of alien/robot/mutant threat upon returning to their former home, a small village with no real character. This causes untold problems for the group, tests the strength of their nostalgia, and made for endless laughs for me. The movie was at times moving, consistently entertaining and notably memorable.

Cast of Characters A great comedy is always identified by it’s key characters. Pegg and Wright always have been able to cast brilliantly and get the best out of their actors. The cast in this one was particularly impressive, which was expected with it being the third in the ‘Blood and Ice Cream Trilogy’ – regular contributors Martin Freeman, Paddy Considine and Eddie Marson joined Pegg and Frost to make up the five musketeers. Gary King (Pegg) was a teenage rebel trapped in an older, more abused body. His borderline alcohol issues prevent him from seeing the reality of his existence. This makes him a menace to his more mature, more successful, former friends. They all have their own characteristics and idiosyncrasies and they all play an equally vital part in the way the movie plays out.

Fighting and Action Another cool aspect of this movie was the amount of action and fighting scenes. Like with Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz, the team did a great job of creating a lot of exciting and intense action. I think even more so in this case. Some of the mass robot slaughters inside pubs were beyond awesome. It had it’s comedic impact, but it was also undeniably entertaining purely for it’s intensity. Edgar Wright showed yet again how his lifelong obsession with films and television have inspired him become one of the most inspired and identifiable directors of his generation.

Notes: I have to give this movie a high rating. It kept my eyes busy for two hours, made me laugh like hell, and even choked me up a little at some points (as these movies always do) – Great storytelling, a very new take on a classic idea. I would recommend this to anyone, especially if you liked Hot Fuzz and Shaun of the Dead. The perfect ending to the trilogy! I’m probably only saying this because I’ve rinsed those other two so much and this is brand new to me, but it’s probably my favourite of the three.

9/10

Thanks for reading. I hope you enjoyed my review. I don’t really know what to do with this kind of thing, so please feel free to leave some feedback or tips or anything. I may do another one of these if I see another movie that gets me going enough to want to do it. For now, I’m out. Check back for plenty more pro wrestling coverage, and the occasional pinch of other.

Craig

What is your opinion?

