Nostalgia Among Wrestling Fans


tumblr_mjh593HOJ31qzx70zo1_1280.pngMr. McMahon mocking Ric Flair – Source: droptoehold.com

Nostalgia is something that warms the heart of almost any human, in any walk of life. It’s something that is particularly popular though, among wrestling fans, myself included. We all seem to long for the product we enjoyed when we first discovered the art-form as children. The old timers long for the 80s cartoon era of Hulk Hogan and the Ultimate Warrior. Fans of my generation cry out for the Attitude Era of the late 1990s and early 2000s. When you look back on classic matches and promos from those times, you can’t help but think “They don’t make them like that anymore” – It makes me feel old, but that’s exactly what I think.

I watched the episode of Raw from March 25th 2002 last night. If any of you are wondering what the significance of this was, it was the very first WWF Draft. I stumbled upon it on YouTube and decided to stick with it. It was so amazing seeing all of my old favorites. Vince McMahon and Ric Flair on screen as opposing General Managers was amazing in itself. Then you see the NWO, Hulk Hogan, The Undertaker, The Rock, Kane, Rob Van Dam, Booker T, the list goes on. I couldn’t help but compare that to now and want to cry. I mean the opening match of the show featured two of the lower-mid card stars of the time: Tazz and Mr. Perfect. Come on! These days it’s The Great Khali and Brodus Clay dancing together. Back then the “afterthought” was two of the best grapplers of our generation. Big difference.

However, I’m not one of those guys who constantly whines about the modern PG era, or sports entertainment overshadowing pro wrestling. I dig the product. It’s just that feeling you get when you watch the shows from a bygone era and long for the past. It’s just nostalgia, it’s natural. Football fans feel it when reliving old World Cup moments. Movie buffs can feel it when they take in a movie from the past, which they haven’t seen in a while. I love modern day WWE, but it’s just not quite the same. Will it ever be? Who knows. Should it even be? I don’t know.

I guess it’s just one of those things. The grass always seems to be greener. It’s the fans who confuse good, natural nostalgia with hating anything that’s new and different that annoy me. There is nothing particularly wrong with the current model. It’s just how they like to do business these days. Sure some things could be better for me if they were changed back, but they probably won’t be and I have to accept that. Stop hating on little kids for liking wrestling, when that’s how you got into it yourself!

Nostalgia is an unexplainable phenomenon that makes the past seem so perfect and so flawless, when in fact there were probably loads of people watching back then complaining and hating the direction things were going in.

This has been another lunchtime masterpiece from me, The Big Bossman. What are your thoughts on wrestling nostalgia? Leave a comment.

What is your opinion?

