Introducing my new colleague Steven Forrester!


This is a bio written by Steven, introducing himself to you all. I hope you find it interesting and be sure to keep it locked to check out his work!

fozzymates

MoJoe (left), Steven Forrester (centre) and Craig (right)

Who am I?

I was a kid in the Attitude Era, a WWF guy through and through, though I also occasionally watched WCW Thunder on Channel 5, and ECW on a through VHS tapes at the local Video Action store. My earliest memory of pro-wrestling is of watching Wrestlemania VIII on VHS. My clearest memory of this show is the phenomenal match that Undertaker had with Jake “The Snake” Roberts (MASSIVE SPOILER ALERT: Taker wins).

I stopped watching wrestling in around 2006. I think there were a lot of factors but the main one was that I simply didn’t have anyone to discuss wrestling with any more. Before then the only person who I really did discuss it with was a fellow wrestling fanatic and best friend from childhood at the time. Every Friday night from the age of 6 until I was 11, I would go around and sleep over at his house and watch the repeat of Monday Night RAW. Unfortunately he and I lost touch when we started at different secondary schools, though luckily by this time I had Sky Sports at home.

In a grand case of irony, if I’d have been friends with Craig (the owner of this site) at the time, I would have likely remained engaged with the product. As I didn’t have access to the Internet until 2007, I was blissfully unaware of the Internet Wrestling “Community”.  Another factor in my abandonment of pro-wrestling (which was still synonymous with WWE and North America in my mind) was that I didn’t have much, if any; interest in the vast majority of guys WWE was presenting me with.

It was the rise of Batista, Cena and Orton, guys who-at the time-bored me to tears. My old favourites were being replaced with what I saw as generic wrestlers who seemed to spend more time talking about trivial bullshit than actually wrestling. As such, I simply stopped caring. Even though I could watch WWE if I wanted to, I chose not to, with the exception of WrestleMania. All this changed when I got an internet connection at home. One day I stumbled across a wrestling forum, followed a link to a Ring of Honor discussion and the rest, as they say, is history. I started watching ROH and I liked what I saw. The hard hitting “realistic” style and long, complex matches were right up my alley.

They were exactly the kind of matches that I loved to see in WWF and WCW during the Attitude Era but taken up to eleven. I was always drawn to guys like Chris Jericho and Dean Malenko, guys who would go out to the ring and truly amaze me with what they did in the ring, whether it was a death defying top rope move or agonizing submission wrestling, pin after pin, twist after turn. Guys who made everything they did in the ring seem like it mattered. That it was all part of a plan.

Ring of Honor had a lot of wrestlers like them. In fact the company seemed built around the ideal. Through the Internet I swiftly learned that these guys were what you’d call “technical wrestlers”. I learned a lot of stuff from the internet, whether it was Wikipedia or interviews with wrestlers. However, WWE and THQ only have themselves to blame for letting me know what heel and face mean, through the Smackdown vs Raw game.

One guy in particular caught my eye, “The American Dragon” Bryan Danielson. Danielson was brash and arrogant. He also called himself the best wrestler in the world, which he backed up in the ring in some of the most dramatic and technically sound matches you’re ever likely to see. As an impressionable smark, it was really hard to disagree with the guy (he’s just so damn crisp!) and to this day I still hold Bryan to be my favourite wrestler. He is perhaps not [yet] my favourite of all time but certainly of the post-Brock Lesnar era. It was Bryan who brought me back into the WWE fold, when I learned he’d be on the first season of NXT.

As I continued to discover ROH matches, I was led to different promotions. Whether it was Pro Wrestling Guerrilla, Combat Zone Wrestling, Pro Wrestling NOAH, All Japan Pro Wrestling and SHIMMER, to name a few. It led to me being exposed to wrestlers like Nigel McGuinness, Jimmy Jacobs, El Generico, Tyler Black, Chris Hero, Claudio Castagnoli, Sara Del Rey, KENTA and many others. I’d been bitten by the wrestling bug again.

The articles I write for this blog will primarily be reviews of ROH PPV’s as they happen, but I’ll also review events from the past and write opinion pieces on different aspects of the promotion and its history. I hope you have a good time and be sure to check back regularly!

What is your opinion?

