My Fame Five from a Surprisingly Solid Smackdown


The-Rock-wwe-champion-hd-wallpapers.jpg

In-keeping with my theme of not really having recurring themes or structured, ongoing features of any kind, I have decided to do a Booker T ‘Fame Five’ of sorts. I was surprisingly pleased with this weeks episode of Smackdown. So much so that I was inspired to write a rare Smackdown related post. My five choices aren’t individual people. They are matches, segments or highlights. The five things I most enjoyed about this week’s Smackdown:

  • Story Time with The Rock
  • Ryback and Mark Henry – Weight lifting contest
  • Dolph Ziggler & AJ v Daniel Bryan & Kaitlin
  • Chris Jericho’s back-to-back wins
  • Team Rhodes Scholars and Antonio Cesaro

As much as I bashed The Rock in my last post (https://therealmidcard.wordpress.com/2013/03/30/the-crazy-irony-of-the-rock-and-john-cena/) I have to give credit where it’s due. I couldn’t have been less enthused by his scheduled appearance on Smackdown going into the show. By the end of the segment, I did have a smile on my face. I found his promo to be really quite funny, and a lot more tolerable than some of his most recent. His comedic timing was genius at times, and showed the difference between him and the many who have tried but never actually managed to hang with the big boys in Hollywood.

The Rock’s story time was also interrupted by the a blockbuster return. The King of People Power and former Executive Vice President of Talent Relations and General Manager of Raw and Smackdown Mr. John Laurinitis is back! It didn’t take long for him to outstay his welcome and take a mean spine-buster and people’s elbow, but I have to say it was a pretty awesome surprise. Just goes to show how fickle we wrestling fans are. I’d almost forgotten his existence. It seems like forever since he was around. I’m really intrigued to see if he is genuinely going to play some kind of role in The Rock and John Cena’s match at Wrestlemania. All in all, this segment was a great way to open the show.

Another highlight of the show was the weightlifting contest between Mark Henry and Ryback, in which Henry apparently broke a record. I’m not sure how real that is, but the contest itself was pretty cool. The World’s Strongest Man did his set, and then Ryback stepped up and took his turn. Before he had a chance to break the record, Henry stopped him at the final rep and held the bar down over him, which choked him out. He left Ryback on the floor to get attention from referees and the medical team. This could be completely ridiculous, but I have an inkling that Teddy Long may be about to turn heel and return to managing Mark Henry. I can’t really explain why, but it’s just a feeling I have. I guess we will see.

Mark Henry_ Teddy Long_ Rodney Mack P-868

The best match of the show by far was unsurprisingly Dolph Ziggler & AJ v Daniel Bryan & Kaitlin. You know when you have those two males in the bring you are guaranteed some polished and exciting technical wrestling. However, it was the female element that made this match even more interesting. AJ and Kaitlin actually got in some pretty impressive offence on each other, and it was the spear by the latter which brought a good match to it’s conclusion. The logical step now seems to be to put the two of them in a Divas Championship match at Wrestlemania.

I’ll be honest. I never catch the show Main Event, so what I’m about to say may not be accurate. Nonetheless, as far as I’m concerned it’s safe to announce that Y2J Chris Jericho has done the unthinkable and won back to back matches. He got the rare win over Wade Barrett with the codebreaker off the distraction from The Miz. This comes after making Dolph Ziggler tap out to the Walls of Jericho on this weeks RAW. Will this momentum continue into the biggest show of the year or will the jobbing continue on Monday?

RAW_1033_Photo_164

My number five pick is the appearance of Team Rhodes Scholars and Antonio Cesaro as a tag team. I’m not going to lie, I didn’t pay too much attention to the match and it didn’t really blow my mind. The whole spot with Team Babyface and The Shield fighting it out in the crowd to end the show was cool, but besides that I wasn’t too bothered. I was more entertained in the moments before the match. Sandow and Rhodes continue to get more hilarious on the mic every week. I really hope they get the tag titles soon! And if you want to see a real Swiss man yodelling, check out this match!

Only two more shows until Wrestlemania!

What is your opinion?

