Memories of wrestling live events


Memories of wrestling live events

I was reminiscing the other day with my friend Fear (doctorstrangesf.wordpress.com) about the live events we have been to in the past. The first time I ever went to see wrestling live was when I was sixteen, with my then girlfriend at the time. It was a Smackdown house show, and I had a blast. I saw Undertaker, Kane, Rob Van Dam, William Regal and loads of other legends! I look back on that night with really fond memories. It’s pretty crazy that it took me about eight years of watching wrestling to actually pull my finger out and go, but I guess that’s how it goes sometimes.

I also went to one independent show run by K-Star at a social club about ten minutes from my parents house. That was actually really cool! Granted the guys weren’t all chiselled, tanned ‘supermen’ but it was sweet seeing all the little kids getting into it, and the whole pantomime aspect that is so evident at that level. The work was basic, but effective. The mic work was great, especially the heels. Watching them threaten to slap the kids in the front row was awesome. Good thing all the parents weren’t dicks and revelled in playing along. Seeing wrestling that up close and personal was certainly an experience I won’t forget.

Since my initial encounter with live arena wrestling, I’ve been to two more WWE shows. They were both live TV, which was awesome. One was at the MEN Arena in Manchester, and the other in Birmingham at the NEC. They were both RAW, which is clearly the better show, and has been for some time. I’ve seen almost all of the stars of the last five or so years, and I have a lot of great memories. I’d recommend going to a live event the next time the company comes to your area!

Anyway, the main reason I wrote this post is because I want to hear some stories and memories from you guys. Does anyone have any live event memories, or any questions about the live shows? Maybe you’re thinking of going and want to know more? Or you’re a veteran who’s been to countless live events. Either way, leave a comment and hit me up with some of your memories and stories from live events!

Thanks!

Loathing

What is your opinion?

