Amazing Comebacks: Henry, Jericho & Lesnar


If you’re not happy with WWE right now, you probably never will be again. I’ve heard all  the complaints, all the criticisms and ALL the disappointment. Coming off the back of Royal Rumble, I woke up expecting to see nothing but praise for what (through my eyes) was a huge success. What I actually woke up to, was a parade of crying people on every form of social media, rambling on about the fact that The Rock won the title, and John Cena won the rumble match. If you didn’t know for a fact that both of those things were going to happen, you’re either twelve years old or very naive.

Starting with the 30 man battle royal. Never let the result of a match spoil it for you. Those moments take a matter of seconds. The moment it took Cena to eliminate Ryback shouldn’t overshadow a match which had everything from surprise to pure shock. The returns of Jericho, Goldust and Godfather. Kofi Kingston‘s annual awe-inspiring feat (on this occasion, using JBL’s chair to hop his way from the announce desk to the apron). The world class technical ability put on display by the best in the business. I found it to be one of the better rumble matches of the past ten years. I won’t let the fact that “Superman” was once again declared winner ruin all of that for me. I’m no more immune to the bouts of nausea which follow hearing that dreaded music start, but it didn’t erase how entertained (and at times enthralled) I was by the match.

The same sentiment applies to the championship match between The Rock and CM Punk. I’m sorry. I hate to break it to you, but there was no way (and The Rock means, no way!) that match was going to end with Punk’s hands being raised. I thought that everything prior to the ring bell was great. I was sad to see the greatest reign in my lifetime come to an end, but there was something full circle about seeing the first person I ever idolised be the man to break it. I thought the booking was done expertly. The whole thing was fairly predictable, but I think it had to be. Despite this, I think they did a good job of spicing things up with The Shield and the whole restart angle to finish the show.

A lot of people seem to consider this a screwy finish which doesn’t do the feud justice. I don’t think there is a lot that could have been done here without making a large amount of people unhappy. I think it could have been a lot worse. At least now Punk and Heyman (shout up if you’re a Paul Heyman guy too!) can claim that he was screwed out of the title. The Rock is now the champion, so that’s him covered. The Shield were involved in the main event of a pay-per-view and are getting dangerously and perhaps prematurely close to being a truly brilliant faction. Punk won’t be out of the spotlight running up to Wrestlemania. A lot was done to keep all of those guys going forward with that show. Even Ryback came out shining again, by ending in the final two and eliminating the viper Randy Orton. If you stop and think, I’m sure you can agree that the show was a success, despite it’s predictability.

Oops, 500 words and I haven’t even started to get to the point. Moving away from all that and back to the present day. RAW on Monday was great again. The product has been improving more and more each week, and in my opinion we are looking at possibly the best potential Wrestlemania card in history. I am unbelievably excited for Elimination ChamberI’m more excited about wrestling on a weekly basis now, than ever before I think. This could also be because of the fact that I’m now out of work and I am able to watch the shows live each week, which rules.

But it’s time to get to the point now. The sole reason I decided to click ‘New post’ – Mark Henry‘s dominating return to Monday Nights. The World’s Strongest Man came back with a vengeance, and the roll call of big names returning to join the party is really starting to pick up speed as this runaway train heads straight through the Road to Wrestlemania. Along with Chris Jericho and Brock Lesnar, Henry is one of three men who have all (at one point or another) been one of (if not the) biggest name(s) on either RAW or Smackdown during their best run.

I thought his appearance in returning to wipe out Daniel Bryan, Rey Mysterio and Sin Cara was the perfect push he needed to set him up for a potential feud with a top face like Ryback or Sheamus. For me, the obvious choice is to book him with Ryback, and give him the biggest test he has faced yet – the devastating, destroying wrecking ball… Mark Henry! It could just be another case of my over-selling to the max, but I think this is just the added bit of star power needed to make this years run-in one of the best in history.

The only reason I’ve decided to focus my praise on the Henry situation is the fact that Chris and Brock have both been in and around the company on a part time basis for a while now. I don’t know how long it’s been since Henry went away (tell me if you do!) but it seems like he’s been gone a while, and it felt like a genuinely huge impact the other night. I just felt that his return kind of summed up the roll which WWE has been on now for a while.

I know that I am biased, but that’s only because I have good taste. The product is reaching new heights every week and these amazing comebacks have really kicked the Road to Wrestlemania into full gear. I’m EVEN looking forward to Smackdown every week now, and I can’t even begin to comprehend that. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

There is nothing I like more than opinions on wrestling. With that in mind, I’d love to hear what YOU think about what I have to say. Do you agree? Do you disagree? Why not leave a comment? If you have a blog or a website discussing wrestling, post me a link and I’d love to check it out. Why not go ahead and cast your vote on the poll below?

Any new comebacks I’ve missed out since the new year? Whether one night only, or long term, who has brought back a spark for you?

Also, some of you may already know of it, but if not, check out NODQ&AV on Youtube. It’s a channel for question and answer sessions made by Aaron Rift, the owner of pro wrestling news website NODQ. I’ve been watching the shows for at least two years now and they are really good. In fact, me and a friend (the guy I’m working on the documentary with) are in the preliminary stages of starting to do something similar ourselves. Aaron has regular viewers from all over the world, and always is totally on point in my opinion.  He is unbiased, intelligent and professional. If you have a question about wrestling, tune into the show and follow the instructions for submission. He answers on WWE, TNA and even the indys. See the links below. Check out his stuff, and stay locked to this site for more pro wrestling opinion in text and video formats.

http://www.youtube.com/user/nodqcaw

http://www.nodq.com

I hope you enjoyed reading.

Loathing

One thought on “Amazing Comebacks: Henry, Jericho & Lesnar

  1. “If you didn’t know for a fact that both of those things were going to happen, you’re either twelve years old or very naive.”

    It’s things like that that make me very, very glad I decided to try speaking to you.

What is your opinion?

