Mick Foley: Iconic


Mick Foley: Iconic

Given the recent announcement that Mick Foley will be going into the 2013 Hall of Fame, you can imagine the amount of epic vignettes I’ve been watching. The inspirational, tear jerking collections of Foley moments, which make the hairs on the back of your neck stand to attention. It’s got me reminiscing about Mrs. Foley’s baby boy! The man with the three faces. The hardcore legend. One of my personal heroes.

I have countless memories of Mick Foley, too many to mention. I had an inkling he’d be inducted, what with it being at Madison Square Garden. I was still so elated to hear the good news. It’s about time that such an icon of the business is truly recognized. A lot of people are divided on his talents, but for me there is no discussion. He sacrificed and dedicated himself to his performances, his storytelling in the ring AND on the microphone was flawless and he has a truly innate intelligence for the business.

At this time of year, this special time of year, I feel very warm and fuzzy inside as I look back on legends of the past. Along with excitement and anticipation for Wrestlemania, I love to be reminded of some past heroes with the Hall of Fame announcements. It’s something to look forward to every week when I tune in to RAW. This year it’s Bob Backlund, Mick Foley and Trish Stratus so far. I have a couple of other predictions, but I’ll keep quiet on those (incase they are completely wrong)

The headline of the show this year is obviously going to be the man behind Mankind. A true hero of the attitude era. The character that inspires the normal, and not so normal in all of us. A man who can face adversity, and come through as the unlikely victor, against all odds. Mick Foley was always willing to leave everything in the ring for the sake of the art, for the sake of his craft. I think this is how he ought to be remembered. For those of you who may subscribe to the idea that Mick was just a “glorified stuntman” – I say to you… each to their own.

In my eyes, a great pro wrestler isn’t just a technician, a high-flyer or a show stopper. True greatness is measured in your character, not just your skill or physical attributes. The best and most complex characters will always capture the imagination of the audience, and that is how a superstar is made and remembered in the business. Mick Foley had a combination of genuine, real life emotion, passion and intense creativity which is why I will always remember the countless moments of entertainment he provided, in so many different ways.

A true great.

Let me know what you’re thinking. Am I just doing the best selling job ever? Is this the biggest load of false hype you’ve ever heard? Or do you agree with everything I said? Leave a comment or three.

Loathing

6 thoughts on “Mick Foley: Iconic

    • I’m going to post about in full detail closer to the HOF ceremony, but here’s the short form: while Mick was writing “Have a Nice Day”, I was working for a radio station. We teamed up with a local indy promotion to bring him in for an autograph signing. We picked him up in the airport, drove him 90 minutes to the signing, stopped at a hospital so he could visit some sick children, and then he did a guest referee gig. Smart, funny, nice, accommodating, and cool as ever. I’ll never forget it.

  1. I’m planning on posting about Mick and workers like him soon, but in the mean time, I think you’re dead-on. Mick was truly a great wrestler AND entertainer.

What is your opinion?

